$20 in my pocket

macklemoreWithin the past couple years, shopping at thrift stores and wearing vintage clothing is budding into a more popular option among the general populations. When the smash hit Thrift Shop was released by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis in the summer of 2012, I knew thrift stores were returning to mainstream style. This song’s catchy lyrics resonate with the benefits and truths behind shopping at secondhand stores.

After doing a little background digging into this hip hop hit, I discovered that Macklemore and I share a mutual interest in saving money by purchasing secondhand clothing and accessories, and we also share a mutual disdain for expensive designer labels. No wonder he repeats being able to purchase multiple items with only twenty dollars in the song’s chorus.

I’m gonna pop some tags, only got twenty dollars in my pocket. 

This song is an accurate portrayal about the amount of money you can save on the same kind of clothing you’d normally be spending hundreds of dollars on somewhere else. Thrift stores include unique items that will allow the wearer to build their own style from scratch, even if it’s made up of old man clothes. Your creative style will allow you to disregard the paranoia of running into someone wearing the same top or jacket as you.

I wear your granddad’s clothes, I look incredible. I’m in that big ass coat from that thrift shop down the road.

They be like, Oh, that Gucci. That’s hella tight. I’m like, Yo that’s fifty dollars for a T-shirt. Limited edition, let’s do some simple addition. Fifty dollars for a T-shirt, that’s just some ignorant b***s***. I call that getting swindled and pimped. I call that getting tricked by a business. That shirt’s hella dope and having the same one as six other people in this club is a hella don’t.

So take Macklemore’s advice and go pop some thrift store tags – even if it’s only twenty dollars that you have burning a hole in your pocket!

Leave a Reply

